Dictionary of Sydney

The Dictionary of Sydney was archived in 2021.

Greater Blue Mountains Area

UNESCO world heritage area of 1.03 million hectares of sandstone plateaux, escarpments and gorges dominated by temperate eucalypt forest. It is noted for its representation of the evolutionary adaptation and diversification of the eucalypts in post-Gondwana isolation on the Australian continent. 

Spread across eight adjacent conservation reserves, it constitutes one of the largest and most intact tracts of protected bushland in Australia. The eight reserves are: from the south, Thirlmere National Park; Nattai National Park; Kanangra Boyd National Park; Jenolan Karst Conservation Reserve; Blue Mountains National Park; Gardens of Stone National Park; Wollemi National Park and Yengo National Park.

-33.751865191995, 150.36911897785

30 Nov 2000
2000 -