Brisbane Mill

Undershot watermill, so called because of where the water hit the wheel, that was constructed by John Lucas in 1822 just above the head of navigation on Williams Creek on the Georges River. It was named after Governor Brisbane.

Milestone
Constructed
1822 - 1824
Name
Commemorates
Property
Owned by
1822 - 1828
Type

Working the Tides

CC BY-SA 2.0
,
2014

Two watermills existed on the Georges River in the 1820s. In 2013 a research team sought to discover how the maritime landscape of the Georges River and its tributaries sustained the transport of wheat, flour and manpower between the two mills in order to better understand the trials and tribulations of the early colonial settlers and their reliance on the waterways and landscapes of the Georges River.